Creative Writing · My Projects

Finally Finished (almost)

There is such a satisfying feeling when you finish a novel. I know, because I’ve felt it three times so far in relation to The Heather and the Falcon. This time, I think I’ve at least got the story to the point where it should end. The last chapter may need to be a little longer, but at least the woman who read my previous version won’t be left with a list of unanswered questions.

The Heather and the Falcon was my NaNoWriMo novel for 2011. The story is narrated from the perspective of Aelis, a 14-year-old princess who is taken hostage after her father’s castle is captured by a rival king. The course of the novel covers five years of evading arranged marriages, escape attempts, and trying to make something of herself in a place where everyone seems like a potential enemy. I’ve really grown attached to Aelis over the course of writing this novel. She’s one of my most unpredictable characters and has a definite mind of her own.

Once I’ve read through and edited it again an gotten some feedback, I’m going to start submitting the manuscript to agents. Writer’s Digest says there are several new agents looking for writers in the young adult fantasy/science fiction categories, so I’m hoping that will improve my chances. I think it’s the kind of book that readers will enjoy, and there are definite possibilities for other books set in the same world.

One thought on “Finally Finished (almost)

Leave a Reply

