Creative Writing

Inspiration From Songs

A few days ago, I was listening to Celtic Thunder when the song “Ride On” caught my attention. I’d heard it before, but hadn’t given the lyrics much thought. This time, though, it inspired me to write a short story about a blacksmith and a faery princess.

Like many authors, I frequently listen to music while I write. I like Celtic music for writing fantasy, Daughtry for dystopian settings, and country or pop for contemporary fiction depending on how I feel. This, however, if the first time I’ve written a song specifically inspired by a song’s lyrics.

Do you listen to music while you write? Is there a specific type of music you like for specific genres/stories, or have you ever written about a song?

Writing Prompts at MarisMcKay.com

Leave a Reply

