NaNoWriMo

NaNo Update

National Novel Writing Month is well underway, and I am happy to report I have not yet fallen behind. I completed NaNoWriMo in 2011 while taking a full class load, working part time, and writing my undergraduate research thesis, so this year can’t be any harder, right?

This year, I very cleverly decided to begin NaNoWriMo by going to a church lock-in over the weekend. I frantically wrote 3,400 words on Friday, and another 2,400 or so before I went to bed Sunday night. I was surprised how much I could write after only 3 hours of sleep (maybe 4 if you count the nap in the car). I’m not going back to re-read for quality until after November is done, but the quantity part I was able to manage.

Yesterday, I watched a NaNoWriMo virtual write-in video that included several writing prompts for first-person narrative. They’re doing them live each Monday, and here’s the link to the first one if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

