My Projects

The Wonders of A Personalized Rejection Letter

The Wonders of  A Personalized Rejection Letter marismckay.comThis past week, I received my first personalized rejection letter. I was, quite literally, bouncing-up-and-down with excitement. In fact, I’m not sure I could have been happier if the letter had said “Where The Lost Dreams Go” was accepted for publication.

It was a very positive letter, with compliments for my writing style, helpful suggestions for revision, and an invitation to re-submit if I decided to edit the story. As I was falling asleep that night, a thought for revision popped into my head, and I had it re-written the next day.

Interpreting Rejections

I’ve found a couple good resources about interpreting rejection letters. One talks about not taking rejection letters personally, while the other breaks down different types of rejection letters.

How To Interpret Rejection Letters From Literary Agents And Editors” was written by the Writer’s Relief staff. It’s a helpful article, one I recommend reading if you need some encouragement after a form letter rejection, or if you need help interpreting a personalized rejection.

Leave a Reply

