Creative Writing · My Projects

Tears In the Writer

Tears In The Writer, marismckay.com
background image credit: MarLeah Cole

I love this quote from Robert Frost: “No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” Last night, I was crying while I wrote a scene in The Chronicles of Endan. I thought of this quote, and decided that was a good thing.

For almost two years, I was stalled in writing this particular novel because of two scenes I didn’t know how to write. I conquered one during my epic creative flow, and wrote the other one last night. I’m not a mother, so how could I write about childbirth — much less an associated tragedy? But we write about things we haven’t directly experienced all the time, and the story needed this scene. So I finally wrote it. It’s not perfect yet, but it made me cry and I think that’s a good start.

Leave a Reply

