Reading

#FlightsofFantasy Challenge

I love happy coincidences, especially when they lead to book recommendations. Twitter sent me a list of people they thought I might want to follow, I clicked on AlexaLovesBooks, and the first tweet on her page was about the Flights of Fantasy challenge that she hosts with Hello, Chelly. Any excuse to read more books is good, right?

I’m committing to reading at least 15 fantasy books from my Goodreads Flight of Fantasy shelf. Hopefully I’ll get to more, but there are other genres I want to have time for this year as well. We’ll see how things go. I’m already in the middle of The Love That Split the World, so we’ll count that as my first one.

  1. The Love The Split the World by Emily Henry (currently reading)
  2. Shock of Night by Patrick W. Carr (already have it sitting in my pile of library books)
  3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (recommended by Alexa and Rachel)
  4. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (another from their recommendations)
  5. The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle (because unicorns)
  6. Cinder by Marissa Meyer (keep hearing good things about it)
  7. Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell (if I can find it — library only has an e-book and I still don’t have an e-reader)
  8. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury (hooray for non-European fantasy!)
  9. Endure by Sara B. Larson (finishing the series)
  10. Gatefather by Orson Scott Card (dito)
  11. Hood by Stephen R. Lawhead (love Robin Hood legends, so giving this another chance)
  12. Spirited by Nancy Holder (strange fact: I used to be obsessed with books about Indian captives)
  13. Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler (because I love Kindred so much)
  14. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (fantastic book that I want to re-read)
  15. The Anubis Gates by Tim Powers (another re-read)

I may have to tweak this list if I decide I desperately need to read the sequels for some of these. Or maybe I’ll just make time to read the sequels in addition. I’ll keep you updated!

Update: links to reviews as I finish each novel (not all in 2016, as it turns out)

  1. The Love That Split The World
  2. Shock of Night
  3. Unhooked
  4. Endure
  5. Cinder
  6. Gatefather
  7. The Night Circus
  8. Spirited
  9. The Anubis Gates

 

Leave a Reply

