Book Review

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

HeartlessHeartless by Marissa Meyer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love this book. I was expecting to, considering how much I enjoyed the Lunar Chronicles, but I was still surprised how quickly it gripped me. I started reading it on a Friday evening and 5 hours later I was done. Couldn’t put it down.

The wordplay, nods to Lewis Carroll’s original story, and worldbuilding were all fantastic. I was glad to have read Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass first so I could get the references, but Heartless can stand on its own easily enough.

And the characters! I love them all. I’m especially impressed with Catherine, who begins as a likable and sympathetic character. You know she’s going to end up the villainous Queen of Hearts, though, and Meyer accomplished that transition brilliantly.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

