My Projects · NaNoWriMo

Why I’m Not Doing NaNoWriMo This Year

I’ve been participating in the National Novel Writing Month since 2011 and I’ve finished novels all but one of those years. It’s something I love doing and look forward to each year. But those five novels I’ve finished are still just sitting there in my documents folder. I’ve been querying agents for the first one, but the others I’ve only looked at once or twice since writing the first draft. I want to actually finish another novel, not just keep turning out new drafts.

And so I’m not participating in NaNoWriMo this year. Instead, I’m going to focus the intense writing time that I would normally spend on a new novel on revising the novels I wrote last year. Last year’s NaNo project turned into a duology (I finished the first book last November and the second a couple months later) and I honestly think it’s the best story I’ve ever told. I want to make it publication ready without getting distracted by another new story.

It feels so weird not to be starting a new novel today. To not have spent the past month sketching out characters, making sticky-note outlines, and getting my NaNo survival kit together. My thoughts are with everyone who is embarking on a month of noveling, and I wish you all the best of luck. And good luck to those of us sitting this NaNo out to work on other projects as well!

Leave a Reply

